World Architecture Festival 2019 Calls for Entries

A festival and live awards competition dedicated to celebrating and sharing architectural excellence from across the globe, the World Architecture Festival was first held in 2008 wherein the first four festivals were held in Barcelona. Since 2012 there has been a change and the annual events and the host cities have been Singapore, Berlin and Amsterdam. Over a thousand projects are entered in the competition for the awards and more than 550 of these are shortlisted for live presentation at the festival. The architects pay a submission fee to enter a completed building project and travel to where the festival is arranged to present the shortlisted project live to a jury panel. The entries are voluntary and the festival does not control who submits projects. In 2011, the sister event INSIDE Festival (for interior architecture and design) was added in the same venue and arranged at the same time as WAF.

The World Architecture Festival (WAF) is an annual festival and awards ceremony, one of the most prestigious events dedicated to the architecture and development industry in the world. In the spirit of many great architects of the past, from Palladio and John Soane to Le Corbusier and Cedric Price, The Architecture Design Prize is an ideal platform for reflecting on and exploring how drawing continues to advance the art of architecture today. It embraces the creative use of digital tools and digitally produced renderings, while recognising the enduring importance of hand drawing. The organisers invite entries of all types and forms: from technical or construction drawings to cutaway or perspective views and anything in between. Entries are welcomed by architects, designers and especially students from around the world in the following categories:

  • Hand-drawn,

  • Digital and Hybrid, or

  • Combining the two.

This year also sees the introduction of a new category that is the detail drawing. This is to support entries by architects with a passion for working details. Submissions across the four categories will be evaluated on the basis of their technical skill, originality in approach and ability to convey an architectural idea. Drawings can be entirely speculative or relate to real projects.

This year’s judges include artists Langlands and Bell (Ben Langlands and Nikki Bell); Ken Shuttleworth (Make Architects); Narinder Sagoo (Foster + Partners); Jeremy Melvin (World Architecture Festival); Owen Hopkins (Sir John Soane’s Museum London) plus Manuelle Gautrand (Manuelle Gautrand Architecture); Christian Schittich (DETAIL) and Gary Simmons (William Hare Group).

This year the event will take place consecutively from 4th till the 6th of December. The participants can start sending their entries from September. The winners and shortlist will be announced in October, and then go on display at a dedicated exhibition at the Sir John Soane's Museum in London in January 2020. The category winners will each receive a delegate pass and two nights in a hotel during the World Architecture Festival in Amsterdam, 4-6 December 2019. They will be invited to participate in an event on the Festival Stage at WAF, and receive tickets to the Gala Dinner.

In 2018 the prize attracted entries from 31 countries across the globe, showing the truly international nature of the prize. Of the entrants, 55% were architects, 12% were designers and 33% were students. Over 50% of entries, and over 60% of the shortlisted entries were submitted by entrants aged 30 and under. To encourage this trend in 2019, the organisers continue to offer a reduced entry fee of £55 for all entries by students and those under 30, a reduction from the standard fee of £165.

For more visit their website -

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All